North Carolina Speeding Ticket Q&A

traffic offense north carolina Vavonese Law Firm Raleigh Durham

Did you recently receive a traffic ticket? Here are some common questions that Vavonese Law Firm helps clients with every day. If you have received a ticket in North Carolina, contact our office today!

QUESTION:
“How will a speeding ticket affect my insurance?”

ANSWER:
It depends on how fast you were driving, your prior DMV record, the record of any other person on your insurance, and how your ticket is handled. Contact Jamie Vavonese for a consultation for your specific circumstances and pricing to resolve your ticket.

QUESTION:
“The officer who gave me a speeding ticket said it was mandatory that I appear in court. Do I have to appear in court?”

ANSWER:
In most circumstances I can appear on your behalf and handle your speeding ticket for you without the need for you to appear in court. In order to do this, your charge must be one which allows for a waiver of appearance and I must have a waiver of appearance in my file with your signature.  Please contact Vavonese Law Firm to discuss your case and your appearance as well as to sign the necessary documentation for me to be able to represent you.

QUESTION:
“My Wake County speeding ticket was for 20 mph over the speed limit. Can I lose my North Carolina driving license?”

ANSWER:
Yes. However, Jamie Vavonese has ways to help you keep your license. Please contact my office at 919.833.7454 to discuss your case and let us help you keep your license and keep your insurance rates down.

QUESTION:
“I received a North Carolina speeding ticket.  I live in another state.  Is the North Carolina ticket going to affect my insurance?”

ANSWER:
While the DMV in your state will probably find out about the North Carolina traffic citation, the question of how the citation will effect your insurance depends on your local DMV and how your NC traffic ticket is handled.  It will very likely follow you back home so it’s important to deal with it promptly.  I can appear on your behalf to help fix your ticket in order to keep your insurance rates low and to make sure the damage is lessened or eliminated.

QUESTION:
“My teenager just received a Wake County speeding ticket for 16 miles over the speed limit and was arrested.  How can they do this?”

ANSWER:
North Carolina law went into effect that requires officers to arrest any 16 or 17 year old who has a learner’s permit or a provisional license if that person is charged with a criminal moving violation. Along with this arrest there is an automatic license suspension for thirty days regardless of whether the teen is convicted of the offense.  A teen driver charged with driving 15 mph above the speed limit, careless and reckless driving or driving in excess of 80 mph is going to be cuffed and taken down town for mug shots and fingerprinting.

QUESTION:
“Can I lose my car for prearranged racing?”

ANSWER
If you have been charged with “prearranged racing” you could lose your car if convicted. Call my law office to speak with me about your case if you have been charged with this offense.

QUESTION
“How can I fix a traffic ticket where I pled guilty?”

ANSWER
You might be able to re-open your case by filing a Motion for Appropriate Relief.  Also known as a MAR motion.  MAR motions can be used in traffic cases. An example could be a situation where a driver has represented himself in court without correct knowledge the law and ends up with an insurance increase or suspension of license as a result.

QUESTION
Can you get my ticket reduced to the non-moving violation of “improper equipment” in Wake County, NC?

ANSWER

Maybe!  We’re looking for the right answer to the questions below for Wake County, NC Traffic Tickets:

  • No more than one other moving violation in the last three (3) years
  • No more than three moving violations within the last ten (10) years
  • No reductions to improper equipment in North Carolina within the last three (3) years
  • Original ticket says you were charged with speeding 20 mph or less over the posted speed limit and not in excess of 85 mph.