If you get arrested, you have to worry about criminal charges and the consequences of both court proceedings and a conviction. The idea that you might have to go to court to defend yourself could frighten you. Some people worry about needing to hire an attorney or take time off of work for the court. […]
The Real Effects Of A Weapons Charge In North Carolina
While the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution does offer citizens the right to bear arms, some people are prohibited from carrying or owning a firearm. If you are undocumented or a convicted felon or have a restraining order or domestic violence charge against you, you cannot possess a gun. Weapons charges are serious and carry severe penalties which can include prison time. Most weapons charges are felonies. Convicted felons have a harder time getting a job and securing housing, and they cannot qualify for many types of federal aid.
At Vavonese Law Firm, PC, we handle gun and weapons charges in North Carolina and federal courts. If you are facing a weapons charge, it is in your best interest now and in the long run to immediately speak with a North Carolina criminal defense attorney. Call 919-833-7454 to speak with attorney Jamie Vavonese. Do not leave your case to chance.
Common Types Of Weapon Charges
Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon: It is unlawful for any person who has been convicted of a felony to use, possess, own, purchase or have in their custody or control a weapon of mass destruction as defined by the law. A conviction of possession of firearm by a felon is punishable as a Class G felony.
Possession of an unlicensed firearm: All guns must be registered in North Carolina. This includes guns that were purchased in private sales. It is the responsibility of the gun owner to make sure their firearm is registered. Failure to do so can result in criminal charges. Speaking of private sales, removing the serial number of a gun is a Class H felony punishable by up to 20 months in prison.
Violations of local gun laws: While open carry is legal in much of North Carolina, there may be local jurisdictions with stricter laws surrounding gun ownership, possession, and carry. For example, it is unlawful to open carry in the city of Chapel Hill, and it is illegal to have a gun visible near a school (see Possessing a weapon on any school property below for more information).
Carrying a concealed weapon: In North Carolina, you must have a permit to carry a concealed weapon. This includes stun guns, brass knuckles, and bowie knives. You must have a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit to carry a concealed firearm. In order to qualify for a permit, you must be at least 21 years old, meet all federal requirements for gun ownership, complete an 8-hour training course and be a U.S. citizen, among other requirements. A conviction can mean 30 days to six months in jail or longer if this is not the first conviction. Carrying a concealed weapon without a proper permit is a Class 2 misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 6 months in jail. If this is your second offense and the weapon in question is a firearm, the charge is elevated to a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail.
Buying or possessing a gun while under a 50B restraining order: A protective order can temporarily suspend your right to possess a firearm. Buying or possessing a firearm during such circumstances is a Class H felony that can result in a punishment of up to 20 months in prison.
Possessing a weapon on any school property: The charges for this range from a Class 1 misdemeanor to a Class 1 felony, with prison time. School property means elementary schools to colleges and can mean on the campus, in a building or at an event.
Carrying weapons into establishments where alcohol is sold: It is illegal in North Carolina to carry a firearm into a place that charges for admission (e.g., concerts, live performances at bars or outdoors, and other events) or any establishment where alcohol is being consumed and sold. If you are accused of carrying a concealed weapon into an establishment where alcohol is sold, you could be facing a Class 1 misdemeanor and up to one year in jail.
Other state weapons offenses and gun charges include, but are not limited to:
- Illegal sale or purchase of a gun or gun trafficking
- Possession of prohibited firearms such as machine guns or short-barreled rifles or shotguns
- “Straw purchases” of firearms – using someone else to buy a gun
Weapons charges and convictions can leave a permanent stain on your record and subject you to a lengthy jail sentence. Call Vavonese Law Firm, PC, for a free meeting with an attorney who can help you best protect your future.
Vavonese Criminal Law Legal Blog
Long before a federal case goes to trial, the attorneys on both sides will engage in a lot of legal battles over everything from the charges that are levied to the jurors that are selected to hear the case. One of those battles may play out in what is known as a suppression hearing. What’s […]
The constitution protects you from unreasonable searches and seizures by law enforcement. Therefore, the police cannot bust into your house to look for drugs based on mere suspicion. However, the police sometimes conduct illegal searches and seizures and even seize evidence. As a result, you may find yourself facing charges backed by such evidence, and […]
The Help You Need For A Better Future
As the founder of Vavonese Law Firm, PC, in Raleigh, attorney Jamie Vavonese is skilled in working with clients who have been accused of a weapons offense in both state and federal courts. Jamie will work with you to help you understand your rights, to help you understand the charges against you and to build a strong defense for your case. Give yourself the chance at a brighter future. Call 919-833-7454 or send a confidential email to Jamie at the firm. Jamie serves clients facing gun law violations throughout Raleigh-Durham and central and eastern North Carolina.
"*" indicates required fields